By law, you must purchase four so-called mandatory (or mandatory) coverages. If you can afford a taxi or rent a car when your car is in the garage to repair a collision, you may not need replacement transportation coverage. So we contacted the Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents (MAIA) and a local personal injury lawyer to try to gather some details. If you decide to change insurance companies after the 30-day period, you may be subject to a penalty that will decrease as your policy year progresses, depending on the insurance company to which you transferred your coverage.
Massachusetts became the second state in the country to enforce mandatory auto insurance in 1927. Remember that if you or someone on your behalf provides your insurance company with false, misleading, misleading, or incomplete information about the description and parking location of your car, or the names of the people driving it, your insurer may refuse to pay your claims under some or all of the optional insurance parts of your policy. Once you've decided what coverage you need, the next step is to get information about the cost of that insurance, including the premium, the reductions that insurers offer compared to the standard premium, and the particular provisions of the insurance company's policy that may affect your decision to buy from that company. And we've answered thousands of customer questions about how much car insurance is actually needed. If you've been surfing the Internet before you arrived here, you may have learned that Massachusetts is a state that requires car insurance and you can assume that the required state minimum limits are sufficient.
For more information about individual insurance companies' merit rating plans, contact the insurance company or insurance agent directly. If you make a change within this 30-day period, you will pay your old insurance company on a pro rata basis for the new premium until the date coverage begins with your new insurance company. An insurance company can obtain information about accidents and insurance claims from the MRB for use in its merit rating plan. For most drivers, the minimum levels of insurance won't provide sufficient protection and they may want to insure against other types of losses that could result from car accidents.
Insurance companies are prohibited from using certain factors for underwriting or qualifying in Massachusetts. Massachusetts law prohibits insurance advertisements from including false, false, or misleading claims. We'll be happy to talk more about car insurance coverage in Massachusetts and show you ways to save on your car insurance so you can pay higher limits. You may want to check with the agents of several different insurers to find out which groups the insurer has been approved to offer discounts and the size of the discounts.