By law, you must purchase four so-called mandatory (or mandatory) coverages. For more information about individual insurance companies' merit rating plans, contact the insurance company or insurance agent directly. Massachusetts car insurance laws require that all drivers have a minimum level of car insurance coverage when driving or parking on public roads. There's no way to predict exactly what your insurance premium might be until you talk to an insurance agent and get a quote.
For most drivers, the minimum levels of insurance won't provide sufficient protection and they may want to insure against other types of losses that could result from car accidents. If you can afford a taxi or rent a car when your car is in the garage to repair a collision, you may not need replacement transportation coverage. If you make a change within this 30-day period, you will pay your old insurance company on a pro rata basis for the new premium until the date coverage begins with your new insurance company. Driving without proper auto insurance coverage puts you at risk of financial liability and legal penalties.
You may want to check with the agents of several different insurers to find out which groups the insurer has been approved to offer discounts and the size of the discounts. Once you've decided what coverage you need, the next step is to get information about the cost of that insurance, including the premium, the reductions that insurers offer compared to the standard premium, and the particular provisions of the insurance company's policy that may affect your decision to buy from that company. While a liability insurance policy is the easiest and most recommended way to meet insurance requirements, there are two other alternatives that the RMV will accept as proof of financial responsibility behind the wheel in Massachusetts. If you decide to change insurance companies after the 30-day period, you may be subject to a penalty that will decrease as your policy year progresses, depending on the insurance company to which you transferred your coverage.
Remember that if you or someone on your behalf provides your insurance company with false, misleading, misleading, or incomplete information about the description and parking location of your car, or the names of the people driving it, your insurer may refuse to pay your claims under some or all of the optional insurance parts of your policy. If your insurance company increases your auto insurance premium due to an accident, you must pay the additional premium while your appeal is pending or your policy will be canceled. With an auto insurance policy, you're also protected by the no-fault law, which requires auto insurance companies to cover your own medical expenses regardless of fault. If you were injured in a car accident and the insurance company doesn't provide you with the amount of damage you need to cover the expenses, or if you're not sure what your future expenses will be, you should see a nearby lawyer right away.
An insurance company can obtain information about accidents and insurance claims from the MRB for use in its merit rating plan.