Massachusetts auto insurance discounts; good driver, drivers with a clean record and no history of claims save on insurance. The Safe Drivers Insurance Plan (SDIP) sets out the specific credits and surcharges that an insurance company can apply to its premium. Insurance companies are not required to use the SDIP to determine surcharges for at-fault accidents and traffic violations or to apply credits for years without incident. Instead, insurers can choose to develop their own merit rating plans or use the SDIP.
Aside from that, the best way to reduce your car insurance costs is to compare the rates of at least three insurance companies. If you're a member of an organization or an employee of a company associated with Plymouth Rock Assurance, you may be eligible to receive a discount on group car insurance. Because Massachusetts law requires insurance, you can face multiple penalties if you're caught driving without it, such as fines, license suspension, and the search and seizure of your car. These discounts can help you save from 3% to more than 10% and get the cheapest car insurance.
Drivers can be eligible for a new vehicle discount to cover the collision portion of their insurance policy for the first three years of owning a new vehicle. The consequences of driving without insurance are ultimately more costly than buying minimal car insurance coverage. Uninsured motorist insurance means that you can repair your car or go to the hospital without worrying about where you'll get the money to pay your bills. Drivers who take out a policy with a new auto insurance provider and who change their car insurance company or who purchase a policy seven to 10 days before the renewal date can receive this discount.
Check with your insurance company or agent for more information about the merit rating plan that your company is using to qualify your car insurance premium. For insurance companies, it's similar to having a bad driving record, which is why drivers who let their insurance expire for 60 days pay approximately 35% more than the average premium in Massachusetts. If you have an accident while driving without insurance in Massachusetts, you will be cited and all penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no matter who is at fault. Car insurance in Massachusetts is expensive because it's a no-fault state with high auto repair costs.
Penalties for uninsured driving in Massachusetts include fines, driver's license suspension and imprisonment. You can demonstrate your financial responsibility by maintaining minimal car insurance with no gaps in coverage. Car insurance discounts that apply to your driving record, defensive driving classes, occupation, and veteran status are discounts on the driver's profile. Uninsured motorist coverage is a protection for you if another driver hits your car but doesn't have insurance.